Technology News

New Apple FaceTime bugs allows people eavesdrop on your conversations

New Apple FaceTime bugs allows people eavesdrop on your conversations

The caller can listen to your conversation even without you picking up the call. Even if the receiver dismisses the call, it will share video without his/her knowledge.

FaceTime is Apple’s exclusive video calling app designed for the iPhone. Mac and iPad. It works just like Skype but works only on Apple products. The general belief is that the app is more secure than Skype or Whatsapp for video calls because iOS is more secure than Android. Obviously, that’s no longer the case as a new bug in Facetime has been discovered. This bug allows you to call someone via FaceTime and listen to their phone’s microphone even without them picking the call.

When contacted, Apple spokesperson told The Verge “We’re aware of this issue and we have identified a fix that will be released in a software update later this week.” Because of this problem, Apple has disabled “group calling” on FaceTime for now.

FaceTime

FaceTime

TechCapon has verified that it works when you use two iPhones running iOS 12.1.2. This is how it works, just begin the FaceTime Video call via the app. Before the person picks up, just swipe up to add your own phone number to the call. Immediately you’ve added yourself, FaceTime immediately thinks it’s already an active conference call. So it begins sending the audio of the person you’re calling, even though they haven’t yet picked up.

The most disturbing thing about this phenomenon is this. If the person tries to end the call, it begins to transmit video from their camera. Imagine how horrific it would feel to the recipient to know that his/her iPhone is transmitting video without their consent.

We have also confirmed that it also works on Apple MacBooks. The company plans to fix the bug in the next update due to be released later this week. For now, the best way to defend yourself will be to disable the FaceTime completely on your device. You can easily do it via the settings in your iPhone. For Mac, just open your account and disable “Enable this account.”

 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: